Free Mulch!

The first of the year's wood chip deliveries!

The first of the year’s wood chip deliveries!

Our local landfill charges a fee to dump wood chips so I have been able to get 2-3 huge loads every year from one of our local tree companies. I use them to mulch the currants and gooseberries, the blueberries and all of the walkways in the shade gardens and between the raised vegetable beds. I’ve heard that ticks don’t like to cross wood chips so maybe that is an added benefit.

My favorite toy!

My favorite toy!

Last year I invested in a DR Power Wagon and it was the very best garden investment I have ever made. It is a gasoline powered wagon with a large capacity and an automatic dump-loader. My idea of heaven on wheels! Check them out at http://www.drpower.com It makes it a snap to move wood chips or soil!

Slowly, the woods are giving way to a roadway and an improved view!

Slowly, the woods are giving way to a roadway and an improved view!

Our neighbor is planning to finish the access road to his lot at the top of the hill and while he is here with the backhoe, has said he will dig the holes for some large pines to put along the boundary. I’m kind of looking forward to him finishing already – and being able to landscape the hillside a little bit. Our view of Sleeping Giant and the valley is improving daily!

About Susan Guagliumi

I am an author, craftsperson and a gardener. My proposal for a book tentatively titled "The Artful Gardener" was just accepted by Stewart, Tibori and Chang Publishers. Although this will be my fifth book, it is the first outside the area of hand/machine knitting. The manuscript is due early in 2013 and the book is scheduled for Spring of 2014. A somewhat longer process than giving birth to a child, embarking on an author's journey can be just as daunting, exciting and almost as fulfilling.
This entry was posted in Whats Happening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

