Easy Veggie Hod

I'll use this hod for washing and carrying veggies in from the garden this summer.

I’ll use this hod for washing and carrying veggies in from the garden this summer.

According to Webster’s a Hod is a tray or trough that has a pole handle and is borne on the shoulder for carrying loads (as of mortar or brick). None of the garden hods I have seen in recent years would be carried on the shoulder, but they do have a pole handle and are used for carrying produce.

I’ve been eyeing some beautiful hods at the garden center and, while they weren’t overly expensive, I was delighted when I found the directions for building my own at http://www.runnerduck.com.

You'll need a drill bit large enough to accommodate the dowel handle.

You’ll need a drill bit large enough to accommodate the dowel handle.

 

The directions are brief, but easy to follow and the only thing that might be tricky is drilling holes large enough for inserting the dowel handle. I used a spade bit (like the ones I used for the Yule Deer 11/18/12), with the handle suports held firmly in a vise. I really do need to get a drill press one of these days.

 

Hardware cloth is one of my favorite craft materials (see Suet holders 1/10/13) so I had some regular galvanized HC on hand. I plan to build another hod – maybe a little bigger – with some green coated HC.

Meanwhile, I have received the first proof of the layout for the book and it is gorgeous! We’ll go through a couple of rounds of revisions and then send it off to the printer by fall. We’re right on schedule for an early spring 2014 delivery!

About Susan Guagliumi

I am an author, craftsperson and a gardener. My proposal for a book tentatively titled "The Artful Gardener" was just accepted by Stewart, Tibori and Chang Publishers. Although this will be my fifth book, it is the first outside the area of hand/machine knitting. The manuscript is due early in 2013 and the book is scheduled for Spring of 2014. A somewhat longer process than giving birth to a child, embarking on an author's journey can be just as daunting, exciting and almost as fulfilling.
This entry was posted in Whats Happening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

