Searching for Signs of Spring

DSCN5914Finally starting to see a little green and lots of brown as the snow shrinks and evaporates and melts. It always gives me so much hope – and then another storm usually comes along and dashes my hopes to bits!

The snow was finally manageable enough for me to make my way over to the forsythia bushes to cut some for forcing. I had to free a lot of evergreen and forsythia branches from the snow to do it, but I think it will be worth it when those buds pop and I have a bucket full of yellow to brighten the kitchen! I enjoy the forsythia once they bloom in the spring, but I planted them mostly for forcing.

DSCN5916

Just a bunch of sticks for now, in a week or so I should have lots of yellow flowers.

I also tried to release some of the holly branches from the snow – not sure what kind of shape my big bush will be in when this all melts. I was delighted to find an intact Praying Mantis egg case attached to one of the branches.

Signs of life to come!

Signs of life to come!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A week ago, I couldn’t even get near the greenhouse, much less open the door so I was happy to get in there today and find the Rosemary and some potted plants I stored doing just fine. The gourds are nearly dried and I only lost a few that rotted instead of drying. Will have to give the greenhouse a good airing out before I try planting anything just to release any mold spores. Didn’t have a problem last year so am hoping the same holds true this year.

The gourds are almost completely dried, which is a good thing because I'll need the space soon for starting seeds.

The gourds are almost completely dried, which is a good thing because I’ll need the space soon for starting seeds.

DSCN5921

About Susan Guagliumi

I am an author, craftsperson and a gardener. My proposal for a book tentatively titled "The Artful Gardener" was just accepted by Stewart, Tibori and Chang Publishers. Although this will be my fifth book, it is the first outside the area of hand/machine knitting. The manuscript is due early in 2013 and the book is scheduled for Spring of 2014. A somewhat longer process than giving birth to a child, embarking on an author's journey can be just as daunting, exciting and almost as fulfilling.
This entry was posted in Whats Happening and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

