Silver Snowflakes!

 

DSCN5696
So, here it is December 4th and it was nearly 60 degrees here in Connecticut today. Kind of hard thinking that the holidays and New Year are almost upon us (don’t even mention shopping!).

I have always saved the seed pods from Baptisia, Japanese Iris and two varieties of poppies because I love the way they look in winter arrangements. The last few years I have also harvested the seed heads from my giant alliums and, while they look great when they first dry, the creamy tone gives way to brown and they just didn’t look very festive. So, I picked up a couple of cans of silver and gold spray paint to jazz them up a little.

I used some upside-down cardboard boxes and some saved chunks of packing foam to stand the stems up, well separated from each other, and I sprayed them outside on a calm day. Disposable gloves are a good idea – as is a mask if you are sensitive to the fumes.

DSCN5722
I arranged an assortment of stems in this tall glass vase on the coffee table and scattered some gold and silver allium across the mantle.

DSCN5687

 

The allium, in particular, look much more delicate than they are and will last for ages. I just have to decide if I can bear to part with them in a few months or if I should try to store them for next year. . . . just in case I don’t get enough from next year’s garden!

DSCN5705

About Susan Guagliumi

I am an author, craftsperson and a gardener. My proposal for a book tentatively titled "The Artful Gardener" was just accepted by Stewart, Tibori and Chang Publishers. Although this will be my fifth book, it is the first outside the area of hand/machine knitting. The manuscript is due early in 2013 and the book is scheduled for Spring of 2014. A somewhat longer process than giving birth to a child, embarking on an author's journey can be just as daunting, exciting and almost as fulfilling.
This entry was posted in Garden Projects, Whats Happening and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

