Bluebird Feeder

In a short while the birds will start feeding heavily at the seed feeders, but that holds no appeal for the eastern bluebirds. They prefer meal worms and, although I draw the line at live worms living in my refrigerator, I have been able to entice them to eat dried worms instead.

I constructed my bluebird feeder from two lengths of white cedar, a 1930’s aluminum serving dish and a plastic plant tray.

The plastic tray at the top keeps the food inside the aluminum bowl dry and also offers the birds some shelter while they feed.

The main post is dug into the ground for about a foot and extends about 4′ high. I drilled the top of the tall post and both ends of the short (8″) post that sits inside the bowl; I also drilled a hole in the center of the bowl (vintage aluminum is soft and easy to drill). Then, with the bowl sandwiched between them,  I joined the short post to the long one  using a double ended screw.

When I drilled a hole in the plastic plant tray that I used for the roof, I put some masking tape on both sides of the tray to prevent cracking. I removed the tape after I drilled the hole and then I sandwiched the tray between a couple of large washers and screwed it to the top of the shorter post.

It is also a good idea to drill a couple of drainage holes around the bottom of the aluminum bowl so the food doesn’t turn to mush every time it rains.

About Susan Guagliumi

I am an author, craftsperson and a gardener. My proposal for a book tentatively titled "The Artful Gardener" was just accepted by Stewart, Tibori and Chang Publishers. Although this will be my fifth book, it is the first outside the area of hand/machine knitting. The manuscript is due early in 2013 and the book is scheduled for Spring of 2014. A somewhat longer process than giving birth to a child, embarking on an author's journey can be just as daunting, exciting and almost as fulfilling.
This entry was posted in Garden Projects, Whats Happening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

