Zephirine Drouhin Climbing Roses

The wall is done! I just need to finish a little grouting on the back side so we can fill in with dirt and then refresh the wood chips on the walkway. I have started moving all the supplies back into my work space and can hardly believe how much tile and tesserae I used for this project!

The finished, 32′ wall should add interest to the garden terraces year round and do a great job of retaining the walkway and the bank behind it.

The garden is still pretty young and I can’t wait to see how the wall looks with tomatoes trellised to the pairs of bamboo poles, edamame and green beans in front of the tomatoes and sweet peppers between them.

In addition to the tomatoes I planted in front of The Wall, there are another dozen in the garden to the right. The lashed tee-pees hold the grapevine wreaths I use to support  my tomatoes. I save them from year to year and add to them whenever the wild grapes try to encroach on my yard.

The other big news this week is that there are three scrawny, hungry baby robbins in the rose arbor. Every time I walk underneath the arbor, their little beaks poke out of the nest waiting to be fed.

 

The roses are Zephirine Drouhin roses, which are also known as the potpourri rose. The scent is absolutely heavenly and seems to intensify when the petals are dried. I mix my dried petals with dried lavender and a bit of orris root and the potpourri stays sweet and fresh for years. You can order powdered orris root from Nichols Nursery (https://www.nicholsgardennursery.com).

This thornless rose is a vigorous climber. If you don’t have an arbor or trellis yet, you’ll be able to build several with the directions I am writing for the book!

About Susan Guagliumi

I am an author, craftsperson and a gardener. My proposal for a book tentatively titled "The Artful Gardener" was just accepted by Stewart, Tibori and Chang Publishers. Although this will be my fifth book, it is the first outside the area of hand/machine knitting. The manuscript is due early in 2013 and the book is scheduled for Spring of 2014. A somewhat longer process than giving birth to a child, embarking on an author's journey can be just as daunting, exciting and almost as fulfilling.
This entry was posted in Gifts and Goodies, Whats Happening and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

