And so it begins. . .

I’ve been working on “The Artful Gardener”, off and on, for the last ten years – in between other books and projects that came along, teaching, family and building a new home in 2005. After living in two antique homes that already had some established gardens, our new home offered me a blank canvas on which to design and garden so what began as a wooded lot on a hillside has become a series of gardens that are truly,  100% my own creations. The experience has been exciting and fun and has allowed me to utilize many of the ideas I developed  for the gardens in our two previous homes and provided me with lots of fresh ideas for this book.

Last month, Stewart, Tibori and Chang Publishers in NYC accepted my proposal for “The Artful Gardener” so finishing this book will occupy most of my time and energy for the next year. Having thought of the book as “The Artful Gardener” for so long, I now find myself  trying to rename it in a more descriptive way. It really isn’t a gardening book because it doesn’t deal with plants or weed control or  pruning, but it most definitely is a craft book, chock full of projects that hold the greatest appeal for gardeners . . . and people who enjoy making things.

We’ve come up with alternate titles like Crafting for the Garden, The Gardener as Craftsman, Crafty Gardens, Garden Crafts, Crafts in the Garden, Crafts for the Garden, but so far

Birdhouse gourd vines and two varieties of cucumber are supported by rustic cedar fences and trellises.

haven’t come up with anything that rolls of the tongue easily and describes the real nature of the book. For now, I am still referring to The Artful Gardener (TAG), but hoping to come up with a better title and I ‘d love to hear any ideas you can suggest!

The projects I’ve chosen for this book are defined by simple, clear methods for working in a variety of media. I really believe that the average gardener is interested in building a trellis or two – without having to become an expert woodworker in the process. So the trellises, like all of the other projects in the book, are presented in diagrams, how-to photographs and explanations that make them easily doable by anyone with a dose of interest and motivation.

I know I have assembled more projects than we will be able to use in the final count so I plan to share some of the projects with you here on this blog. I hope you’ll follow me through this journey to the finished book.

About Susan Guagliumi

I am an author, craftsperson and a gardener. My proposal for a book tentatively titled "The Artful Gardener" was just accepted by Stewart, Tibori and Chang Publishers. Although this will be my fifth book, it is the first outside the area of hand/machine knitting. The manuscript is due early in 2013 and the book is scheduled for Spring of 2014. A somewhat longer process than giving birth to a child, embarking on an author's journey can be just as daunting, exciting and almost as fulfilling.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Whats Happening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to And so it begins. . .

  1. Rosemary Abbate says:

    I am a fan! You are blessed with sooo much talent..we will be following you here in Jersey!

  2. P. Marcarelli says:

    Can’t wait for the book. I plan on following the blog like a religion.

  3. Mrilee Pritchard says:

    Count me in! Can’t wait to have my very own copy and start building and assembling. So many unique ideas!

  4. Pam H says:

    Once again you are an inspiration to me. How about “crafting an artful garden” Crafting with the Artful Gardener” “crafts for the artful gardener”
    “the artful gardener: crafts for the garden

  5. joy says:

    Lisa just forward this to me and I would love to be on your list to continue reading about your garden and the artful garden
    Love the trellis’s!

  6. Ralph says:

    I’m so jealous of your creativity and ambition! You are amazing!

  7. Karin says:

    Your wall is fabulous. I can’t wait to see all your other ideas. You are truly gifted!

  8. Lazar says:

    How about “Craft-full Garden”

  9. Helen Deckelman says:

    Your energy and creativity are always at 150%…love it and you as well. THE ARTFUL GARDENER sounds like nothing else and is a classy title. Please keep it!

  10. Donna Gannon says:

    I love all your gardens & I am very glad to live so close so I get to see them in person. I think The Artful Gardener is a great name, you could add: “Grow Art for your garden/landscape”

  11. Annette Hollander says:

    I love what you’ve done. You are amazing. You keep going and growing and inspiring us all!

  12. Pat Brennan says:

    Susan, You are so full of creative ideas! I love the new wall! Can hardly wait for the book.

    Pat

  13. I must moved to Santa Fe from Weschester and I am having fun learning a whole new set of plants and birds. I can’t wait to get your book. Sharon

  14. Dorothy Brady says:

    i would love to read more about what you are doing. Your wall is lovely, Please add me to your list.

    Dorothy Brady

  15. Barb says:

    Thanks for the invite to your blog. I am a longtime fan from machine knitting and can’t wait to see what’s next! Barb in Pittsburgh PA

  16. Shirley says:

    I have your knitting machine books and love them. My husband is the gardener and I can’t wait to get your new book for him. Put me on the list!
    Shirley

Leave a Reply

